Jump to main contentSearch

Curriculum - Foundation Stage

Our school curriculum comprises of the statutory requirements of the Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum; and other aspects that we consider to be important in preparing our children for the future and the wider world.

In Foundation Stage, children are provided with a range of opportunities to achieve the Early Learning Goals.

We also ensure that British Values are embedded throughout the curriculum, with links made across many subjects and throughout the year, in every year group. Our own school values are also intrinsically woven into lessons and often turned into discussion points in Philosophy 4 Children or Circle Time sessions.

At William Levick the Early Years Foundation Stage provides a broad and balanced curriculum for children aged 4-5.

In the EYFS there are seven areas of learning and development.

The three prime areas are;

  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development,
  • Communication and Language
  • Physical Development.

The four specific areas are:

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Arts and Design.

At William Levick we consider the individual needs, interests and stage of development of each child and use this information to plan a challenging and enjoyable experience for each child in all of the areas of learning and development. Each area of learning is implemented through planned, purposeful play and through a mix of adult-led and child-initiated activity. We have a natural and holistic outdoor area that the children can access alongside a range of indoor provision.

Each child’s level of development is assessed against the Early Learning Goals at the end of the year and parents are informed as to whether their child is meeting the expected levels of development, or if they are exceeding expected levels or not yet reaching them (emerging).

 Folders: 0  |  Files: 3  |  Size: 974 kb

Newsletters are helpful and regular updates.Parent Questionnaire.